Knorr-Bremse’s fully-digitalised core return and sorting process satisfies customer and remanufacturing process demands: operators now use touchscreens to identify and sort cores, with 1,500 part numbers handled, in a system which is integrated into SAP with a real-time view of all sorting data and stock. The judges were impressed by a complete process which allows a full track and trace from the customer’s pick-up request, goods receipt and core identification up to surcharge refund booking.


 Atlantic Automotive Enterprises (AAE), which is a brand of CRP Industries Inc., is a remanufacturer of electrical power steering systems. Its introduction of lean principles and semi-automation to its supply chain management system - often a challenging task to perform – impressed the judges. These innovations have been implemented in most of the company’s reman process steps and have been shown to have a really positive effect on efficiency, supporting an aggressive EPS launch plan.


A co-founder of the Rematec exhibition, Fernand Weiland has been in management positions responsible for aftermarket and remanufacturing operations over the last 30 years or so with companies including Bendix, Lucas and TRW. In 1989 he founded APRA’s European division and served as chairman for more than 20 years. From 1990 to 2012 he organised a considerable number of APRA forums, workshops and exhibitions across Europe – and as a consultant, he has published many articles and several books on reman. He has worked tirelessly to exchange knowledge and promote remanufacturing to businesses and policymakers – and the industry has no better friend than Fernand.


About the Remanufacturer of the Year awards 2019

Rematec News’ Remanufacturer of the Year Awards are the most prestigious honour in remanufacturing. Founded in 2005 and now in its 15th year, the prize is given to a person or business that has served automotive remanufacturing with particular distinction. Over its lifetime the award has celebrated the achievements of some of the reman industry’s preeminent names. Within the industry it is considered a major accolade.

At a time when green issues, conservation of resources, recycling and environmental responsibility are at the forefront of public concerns, the award is intended to highlight the huge commercial and environmental benefits of remanufacturing.


Award winners from previous years

2018: Autocraft Drivetrain Solutions Ltd (Best Reman Process Optimisation)
          Shin-Etsu Denso Co (Best Reman Business Innovation)
          Alec GmbH, Thijs Jasink (Best Reman Ambassador)
2017: Salvador Munoz Zarate, WABCO Reman Solutions & Peter Bartel, C-ECO 
2016: Rolf Steinhilper
2015: Søren Toft-Jensen, Borg Automotive
2014: Jack Stack, SRC Holding
2013: Alan Smart, ATP
2012: Doug Wolma, Meritor
2011: Philippe James, Remy Automotive Europe
2010: Francois Augnet, TRW
2009: Carsen Bücker, BU Drive Group
2008: Johan van Gerven, MRT Engines
2007: Martin Detzen, MD Rebuilt
2006: Alexander Schäfer, MS Motor Service Int.
2005: Jens Lindholm, Holger Christiansen


RotY Awards

Categories RotY awards 2019

1.The best Reman Process Optimisation: The organisation that has realised the most outstanding process improvement results to (a part of) a remanufacturing process in the past twelve months.

2.The best Reman Business Innovation: The organisation that has realised the most outstanding business model related to remanufacturing industry in the past twelve months.

3.The best Reman Ambassador:  The organisation or individual that has most significantly contributed to the general awareness and/or acceptance of remanufactured products.



Member Mugshot


Adam Hill
Chairman of the Jury, Editor of Rematec News UK

Member Mugshot


Erik Sundin
Senior Lecturer & associate Professor at Linköping University Sweden

Member Mugshot


Volker Schittenhelm
Corporate Member of FIRM Brussels

Member Mugshot


Tessa van Vlaanderen
Founder of Circular Futures USA

Member Mugshot


Felix Feuerbach
Co-founder and Shareholder of Kemény Boehme & company Germany

Member Mugshot


Peter Bartel
Board Member of APRA Europe, Belgium