About the Remanufacturer of the Year Award

ReMaTecNews’ Remanufacturer of the Year Award is the most prestigious honour in automotive and commercial vehicle remanufacturing. Founded in 2005 and now in its 13th year, the prize is given to a person or business that has served automotive or heavy duty remanufacturing with particular distinction. Over its lifetime the award has celebrated the achievements of some of the reman industry’s preeminent names. Within the industry it is considered a major accolade.

At a time when green issues, conservation of resources, recycling and environmental responsibility are at the forefront of public concerns, the award is intended to highlight the huge commercial and environmental benefits of remanufacturing.

The ReMaTec team is very proud to announce that this year the most prestigious award in the industry will contain a new set-up. Competing in categories, the RotY awards 2018 will honour individuals and companies deemed to have served in the remanufacturing sector with distinction.


>> This competition is now closed and submission is not possible anymore.


Award Ceremony


What? ReMaTecNews' Remanufacturer of the Year Awards Ceremony 2018
Who? Open to all remanufacturing professionals
When? 11 September, starting at 16:00hrs
Where? Stand: 4.1, Booth: D82 Robarcko, at Automechanika, Messe, Frankfurt
Why? To celebrate remanufacturing with drinks surrounded by good company
How? Register here


Hosted by




Sponsored by


New categories RotY awards 2018

1.The best Reman Process Optimisation: In this technical category we will zoom into reman processes and award companies with e.g. Innovative cleaning technologies, state of the art end-of-life testing, high end core sorting procedures etc.   

2.The best Reman Business Innovation: In this category we will look into disruptive business models towards remanufacturing. The winner of this category should be an inspiration to other remanufacturers. E.g. independent remanufacturers who managed to work with OE’s, remanufacturing as a service, etc. 

3.The best Reman Ambassador:  In this category we will honour an organization or individual that has signifiacntly contributed to the awareness and/or acceptance of remanufactured products. 


best reman ambassador



Best business innovation


best reman process



Winners RotY Award 2017 Salvador Munoz Zarate, WABCO (left) and Peter Bartel, APRA Europe (right)

Winners RotY Award 2017

In an unprecedented move, Salvador Munoz Zarate and Peter Bartel have been jointly awarded the Remanufacturer of the Year 2017. The jury has given it to them for their tireless work in representing the European automotive remanufacturing industry in lobbying and advisory activities with the United Nations and European Commission. They were the driving force behind the industry’s declaration of common definitions and have together made a massive contribution to the greater understanding of the global remanufacturing sector by politicians and policy makers.

Congratulations to Salvador and Peter!

Award winners from previous years

2016: Rolf Steinhilper
2015: Søren Toft-Jensen, Borg Automotive
2014: Jack Stack, SRC Holding
2013: Alan Smart, ATP
2012: Doug Wolma, Meritor
2011: Philippe James, Remy Automotive Europe
2010: Francois Augnet, TRW
2009: Carsen Bücker, BU Drive Group
2008: Johan van Gerven, MRT Engines
2007: Martin Detzen, MD Rebuilt
2006: Alexander Schäfer, MS Motor Service Int.
2005: Jens Lindholm, Holger Christiansen

Previous winners RotY Award


Member Mugshot


Adam Hill
Chairman of the jury, Editor of ReMaTecNews UK

Member Mugshot


Erik Sundin
Senior Lecturer & associate Professor at Linköping University Sweden

Member Mugshot


Volker Schittenhelm
Corporate Member of FIRM Brussels

Member Mugshot


Fernand Weiland
Founder APRA's European Division

Member Mugshot


Tessa van Vlaanderen
Founder of Circular Futures USA

Member Mugshot


Felix Feuerbach
Co-founder and Shareholder of Kemény Boehme & company Germany