Rematec Amsterdam
June 2023 | Amsterdam

Nominate the Remanufacturer of the Year 2023

Roty Awards

The Remanufacturer of the Year Awards

Rematec News’ Remanufacturer of the Year Award is the most prestigious honour in remanufacturing. The prizes are given to a person or business that has served remanufacturing with particular distinction in the categories Best Reman Process Optimisation, Best Reman Business Innovation and Best Reman Ambassador. Over its lifetime the award has celebrated the achievements of some of the reman industry’s preeminent names. Within the industry it is considered a major accolade.

At a time when green issues, conservation of resources, recycling and environmental responsibility are at the forefront of public concerns, the award is intended to highlight the huge commercial and environmental benefits of remanufacturing.

RotY Award categories

Best Reman Ambassador

The individual that has most significantly contributed to the general awareness and/or acceptance of remanufactured products.

Best Reman Process Optimisation

The organisation that has realised the most outstanding process improvement results to (a part of) a remanufacturing process in the past 24 months that directly contributes to the circular economy.

Best Reman Business Innovation

The organisation that has realised the most outstanding business model related to remanufacturing industry now and in the future in the past 24 months.

RotY Awards Jury


Felix Feuerbach

Co-founder and Shareholder of Kemény Boehme & Company, Germany

Peter Bartel

Peter Bartel

Board Member of APRA Europe, Belgium

Jury statements on the winners of 2020

Best Process Optimisation and Best Business Innovation 2020

Although business innovation and process optimisation often go hand in hand, it is the first time a company wins both awards. The jury commented on awarding both awards to F2J Reman with the following: "F2J Reman's Part recognition Vision system is tackling the right problem, whereby today many companies are depending with core identification on an internal expert, who's hard to replace in the case he/she is not able to work for them anymore. F2J Reman decided to embrace novel smart technologies to support business optimisation by attracting a PhD student and using artificial intelligence."

Best Reman Ambassador 2020

The winner is Re:CREATe. With Re:CREATe’s vision to be co-creators of a thriving remanufacturing industry in India, the organisation has made a sound impact on the jury with their commitment to being advocates for, and providing tools, resources, guidance and inspiration to the makers, doers, and designers, empowering them to develop and provide remanufactured products and related services that are in harmony with the principles of environmental stewardship.

Special Recognition Award 2020

Special times ask for special recognition. GB Remanufacturing, a company that remanufactures components for gas and diesel engines used their expertise and knowledge to design a vital part for the medical industry when it was most needed. In April this year, normal hospital respirators needed to be converted to pressure controlled respirators. The Original Equipment Manufacturer did not have all the pieces to manufacture the special part, so they used the Emergency Use Act, where they allowed others to add parts to their product. GB Reman provided this life-saving ventilator part to its local hospital.

Award winners previous years

2021 Niels Klarenbeek, RAI Amsterdam
2020 F2J Reman (Best Reman Process Optimisation)
F2J Reman (Best Reman Business Innovation)
Re:CREATe (Best Reman Ambassador)
GB Reman (Special Recognition)
2019 Knorr Bremse (Best Reman Process Optimisation)
CRP Industries for itsAAE Steering Systems Components brand (Best Reman Business Innovation)
FJW Consulting, Fernand Weiland (Best Reman Ambassador)
2018 Autocraft Drivetrain Solutions Ltd (Best Reman Process Optimisation)
Shin-Etsu Denso Co (Best Reman Business Innovation)
Alec GmbH, Thijs Jasink (Best Reman Ambassador)
2017 Salvador Munoz Zarate, WABCO Reman Solutions & Peter Bartel, C-ECO
2016 Rolf Steinhilper
2015 Søren Toft-Jensen, Borg Automotive
2014 Jack Stack, SRC Holding
2013 Alan Smart, ATP
2012 Doug Wolma, Meritor
2011 Philippe James, Remy Automotive Europe
2010 Francois Augnet, TRW
2009 Carsen Bücker, BU Drive Group
2008 Johan van Gerven, MRT Engines
2007 Martin Detzen, MD Rebuilt
2006 Alexander Schäfer, MS Motor Service Int.
2005 Jens Lindholm, Holger Christiansen